Bargain Hunter I Am Not!

I am not a big fan of bargains.  That may seem a bit surprising but my experience with bargain purchases has not been hugely positive.  I usually end up with cosmetics I don’t want, food that will likely kill me and clothes that may have been $5 but don’t actually fit!  My theory is that if it’s in the bargain bucket because it’s not selling then there has to be a reason: if no-one else wants to buy it,  I don’t want it either thank you very much!

A bit of impromptu sale buying is ok I suppose but the huge organised sales leave me cold. I don’t like spending hours rifling through racks of clothing nor fighting my way through hoards of people – people who incidentally have lost all sense of decorum and good manners while being blinded by the smell of a sale.  And if you ask me places like T J Maxx and Marshalls have taken the smugness out of wearing a designer label.  If anyone can get a Gucci handbag for $50  or Calvin Kline jeans at the afore-mentioned stores, what’s the point?   Surely the only reason to buy those brands is to gloat, otherwise you might as well get them at Target or Marks & Spencers.  (Nothing wrong with that of course- ahem!)

Recently though I did succumb to a bargain and it didn’t pay off I can tell you!  I was in CVS getting a few supplies, toothpaste, lip balm, a new bath squeegee, that sort of thing, and I noticed some Mrs Whittaker’s Organic Peppermint Body Wash on sale.  Lovely packaging…old style, Times Roman font, blue and white print…you know the sort of thing…it looked…well…reliable…the kind of thing my Granny would have used.   And it was only $2 for a big bottle, there were loads of them all stacked neatly with a sign booming in neon ink that they were “ON CLEARANCE!”  I threw a bottle in the trolley and headed to the cashier feeling wholesome and thrifty.

Next morning I awoke, excited to use my new minty body wash.  Oh yes it smelled so good as I flipped the cap, the vapours mixing with the steam of my shower, reviving and refreshing.  I could almost imagine that I was back in the fifties with a ration book and twin-set.  Mint! How natural, how simple, how perfect!

I smeared the bloomin’ stuff everywhere and that, my friends, was my downfall.  You see there are some parts of the body, I know now, that you don’t want a minty fresh feeling because in certain areas, it feels less like a lively minty coolness and more like an aggressive burn!  And no amount of rinsing can relieve it.  Honestly, I felt peculiar…down there…all day. 

And that is why I shall continue to steer clear of bargain buckets, anything on clearance, the President’s Day Sale, New Year Sale, buy one get one free, last-minute mark-downs, discontinued lines… you get the idea! 

Bye y’all!

4 Responses to “Bargain Hunter I Am Not!”

  1. I’m not really a bargain bucket person, but I admit I’m a ‘huge’ thrift-whore! If there is a thrift store, garage sale, or auction going on nearby I began to get the itch. I just love things that belonged to other people. You know…”One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.” Hmm…you know my husband was married once before too. I think I paid way too much for that so called bargain.

  2. Hello and welcome to my blog! So nice of you to stop by! 🙂 Regarding your husband…surely that means you invested in a vintage model? And as we all know you can never pay too much for vintage! 😉

  3. Can’t say I’m into camping on the doorstep for a Sale either but I do find I’m a bit of a sucker for ‘2 for 1’ deals in the supermarket and then end up throwing stuff away when it gets past its sell-by date!
    Kathleen.

  4. Ah and there we have a prime example of how a bargain is not really a bargain – just like how my $2 body wash was a complete waste of money because I had to buy some rather expensive yet wonderfully soothing Ylang Ylang and Chestnut body wash from Aveda to counteract the minty sting! I say stay away from bargains! 🙂

Leave a Reply

