Snowed In – in Texas of all places!

I’m completely snowed in at the moment.  The parking lot and pathways around my apartment block are iced over which mean it’s impossible to leave the building – can’t get any groceries, go to the gym (oh dear!) and even worse than that I had to cancel my all-over body green tea detoxifying massage at the local spa – humph!  The office is closed, although thanks to the wonders of technology I can still work from home which is a bit of a downer. 

The power went out for three hours yesterday which meant I had to tape my hot water bottle to my stomach. I imagine hulking a couple of pounds of fluid on your tummy must be what it feels like to be pregnant – how do those maternal ladies do it – my back is killing me today!!

And the television is full of journalists in snow hats and gloves, looking a tad bewildered – probably wondering whether their fake tans look a bit out of place.   In the end I switched it off because there’s only so many times you can look at a truck broken down on the motorway and still find it interesting.  Besides I had an apricot and lavendar bath to run – well might as well make good use of the time eh?

In the meantime there’s dangerous poltical unrest in Egypt but let’s not get side-tracked, after all de-icing  the highway so that the Packers (or whoever they are) can get to the SuperBowl is far more important…

Luckily I have some food in the freezer but supplies are getting low – I shall have to be creative tonight…peanut butter and ginger rice casserole I think…yum!

Keep warm and safe everyone!

Bye y’all!

5 Responses to “Snowed In – in Texas of all places!”

  1. M G Kizzia Says:

    Well………..it’s not like it snowed in Cairo, or Hell, or whichever comes first.

    -Michael
    The Fiction Side: The Storyteller http://mgkizzia.wordpress.com/
    The Non-Fiction Side: Word & Spirit http://michaelkizzia.wordpress.com/

    • That’s true – no snow in Cairo and quite frankly I’d rather be iced in here with dry skin and a seriously diminishing milk supply, than over there at the moment – sending out positive vibes in hopes that it can be resolved soon.

  2. Hey Josie! I just downed a bowl of artichoke hearts and green olives! YUM! No spices or sauces. It was fab!

  3. Gosh you have a sophisticated pantry – makes my peanut butter and ginger sound a bit lame! 🙂

  4. Yep, my diet went all to crap this week. Made TWO pans of chocolate brownies…with frosting. Nothing beats something warm and chocolaty when its snowing outside.

Leave a Reply

