Itallics and Typos

Oh golly – I feel I need to write this on Ella’s behalf   – it’s a sort of disclaimer.  You see, while I am a whizz in the old grammar department and a genius speller – Ella, unfortunately, is not.   It is becoming obvious that these posts are going to, occasionally, have some typos, that may, for a while, go unspotted.   As a fictional character, I am powerless to do anything about it and my only hope is that, these occaisional blips do not spoil your enjoyment of the entire blog.  Come on guys, what’s the odd missing comma between friends?  

The main reason for such lapses is usually due to the fact that these posts are usually written in one of two main scenarios – there are others but they involve pyjama’s and greasy hair so we’re not going to talk about those! 

1) Late at night when everyone esle is asleep and quite frankly Ella should be too.

Or

2) In the midst of children, usually three but sometimes more (eek!),  running around the interior of the house in circles, playing Star Wars at loud decibels and smearing yoghurt all over the walls!

Personally I think it’s amazing she has been able to write anything at all, never mind produce work that is grammatically correct!

Also, it is becoming apparent that Ella has developed a penchant for the use of  itallics.  I think she feels it helps to create the sound of my voice.  However I personally am wondering if they are a tad distracting!  But like I said there is nothing I can do about it,  so we’ll just have to muddle along…

Bye y’all!

9 Responses to “Itallics and Typos”

  1. Tell Ella not to worry. I myself am a horrid speller and become italics happy quite frequently. And though I do not have children of my own, there are three younger than me living in my house (well my mom’s house) and I worked at a daycare for a year and a half … accomplishing things often becomes pseudo impossible.

    P.S. she should join in on the Star Wars games every once in a while. They tend to be more fun than an adult would think 🙂

  2. Thanks for the support – much appreciated and I’m glad she’s not the only one! She can’t even spell italics correctly – is all hope lost?! She has been known to join in on the Star Wars, which, from what I can see, usually involves a lot of grovelling around on the floor – can’t say it appeals to me though!

  3. Machelle Grimes Says:

    So we need to develop software that allows your genius, Josie, to shine, therefore giving Ella a much deserved break. Any takers? I know I’m doing good just to turn on my computer!

  4. Kathleen Says:

    The italics don’t bother me but I am a bit of a stickler over punctuation which usually results in my over use of it! (see what I mean?).
    Are there two versions (US and British) for the word occasionally? I only use one ‘i’.

    However the main function of these informative pieces must be get it out of your system Josie, so keep ’em coming!

  5. Ah yes well I think Ella does like her punctuation – usually in all the wrong places. And no, as far as I’m aware there isn’t a different spelling for occasionally – that’s a typo – you see what I have to work with?

  6. A note from Ella: spelling ammended. Thank you Kathleen! 😉

  7. Interesting post on italics and typos; but I’m curious, did Ella intentionally misspell italics as itallics?

    Thanks! http://charleneedits.wordpress.com

  8. Hello and welcome Charlene! Thank goodness you’re here – now there’s someone else to spot Ella’s typos!! 😉

Leave a Reply

